About Romania

Official name: Romania

Official language: Romanian

Area: 92,043 sq. miles (238,391 sq. km) – a little smaller than U.K.

Location: Central Southeastern Europe

Population: In March 2014 – 19,942,000

Capital: Bucharest (București)

Form of State: Republic, semi-presidential democracy, based on a bi-cameral Parliament: Chamber of Deputies and the Senate. All the members of the Parliament are directly elected and represent one of the 41 counties of Romania.

President: The Head of State is the President. He is directly elected by general vote over the age of 18. The Presidential mandate lasts for 5 years; one president is allowed to have two 5 years terms only. In a semi-presidential democratic republic, the president is responsible for external affairs and internal judiciary system.

Why to visit Romania

Nature and wildlife

There are 14 national parks, over 600 natural reserves, over 50 scientific reserves and over 200 natural monuments.

Medieval towns and castles

There are some beautifully preserved medieval towns, whose citadels make you feel like you’ve stepped back in time.

The Painted Monasteries

There is no other place in the world where you can find such unique, high quality interior and exterior frescoes.

The government: The Head of the government is the Prime Minister, who is nominated by the President of Romania and confirmed by the Parliament. The Government has 19 ministries.
Administrative/regional divisions: 41 counties.

International organizations: European Union (E.U.) and North Atlantic Treaty Organization (N.A.T.O.).

Largest cities: Bucharest – the capital (1,883,425), Cluj-Napoca (324,576), Timișora (319,279), Iași (290,422).

Religion: Romanian Orthodox — 86.7%, Roman Catholic — 4.7% , Protestant Churches (Calvin, Lutheran, Unitarian, Pentecostal, Baptist, Adventist) — 5.3% , Greek Catholic – Uniate — 0.9% , Islam — 0.3% , Atheist — ~0.04% (9,271 people).

Currency: Leu, plural Lei. Leu means lion in Romanian.

Climate: Temperate-continental, with four distinct seasons.

Urban/rural: 55.20% urban, 44.80% rural.